To Site Top
[ English | Japanese ]



* About Mercury
* About This Site

* Label Varitations
* Matrix Variations
* Innersleeve Variations

* Columns

* blog (not only Merc.)

Mercury Series

* 10000 Series
* 15000 Series (10")
* 20000 Series A
* 20000 Series B
* 25000 Series (10")
* 30000 Series (10")
* 35000/JATP/MGC
* 40000 Golden Lyre
* Living Presence
* 80000 Custom
* 90000 Tono
* PPS Series
* SRM Series
* Demo/Sampler


* EmArcy 26000 (10")
* EmArcy 36000 (12")
* EmArcy MGE/SRE
* EmArcy EMS
* Wing 12000
* Wing 12100/16100
* Wing 14000/18000
* Wing 60000
* Limelight
* Philips U.S.
* Fontana U.S.
* Smash
* Blue Rock
* Cumberland
* ...

(33rpm 7")

* Mercury 200/600
* Limelight 300
* Smash 700
* Fontana 750
* Philips 800/2700

Extended Play
(45rpm 7")

* Mercury EP 3000
* Mercury EP 4000
* Mercury EP 5000
* EmArcy EP 6000
* Wing EP 16000
* Mercury MEP
* Childcraft/Playcraft
* miscellaneous


* Mercury 2000
* Mercury 3000
* Mercury 5000
* Mercury 6000
* Mercury 8000
* Mercury 8900
* Mercury 11000
* Mercury 70000
* Mercury 89000
* EmArcy 16000
* Limelight
* Wing
* Blue Rock
* ...

Index by Artists



[In Association with Amazon.com]

PPS-6028: Impressions Of Duke Ellington / Billy Byers

[Front Cover] Label Type : gold f:35d PPS type B
Matrix Number : SIDE-A PPS-6028A-RFR1    FF


Gatefold cover.

with original Mercury PPS inner sleeve.

Inside The Groove

A challanging arramgements by Billy Byers with the help of Quincy Jones, with best salute to Duke Ellington.

Personal Impression (and brief notes)

Billy Byers, a talented trombone player, took part in so many studio sessions ever. On this album, Billy Byers are credited as an arranger as well as a conductor, with the help of Quincy Jones who supervised and directed the session.

Although the music presented on this album may not be straightahead swing big band, Billy Byers does a fair amount of good job on every tune as an arranger - an interesting mixture of swing bigband, easy listening and space age pop. Percussion splashes from left to right, while well-known studio musicians digs great solos.

Strictly Personal Rating (to what extent I could enjoy this album)

7 out of 10

Track Listing

A-1 FPB4493 (F23334) Take The “A” Train (Billy Strayhorn) 2:13
A-2 FPB4492 (F23333) Sophisticated Lady (Duke Ellington, Mitchell Parish & Irving Mills) 2:27
A-3 FPB6949 (F23262) Just Squeeze Me (But Don't Tease Me) (Duke Ellington & Lee Gaines) 3:12
A-4 FPB6950 (23269) Chelsea Bridge (Billy Strayhorn) 3:05
A-5 FPB6951 (23267) Caravan (Juan Tizol, Duke Ellington & Irving Mills) 5:15
B-1 FPB6952 (F23261) Mood Indigo (Duke Ellington, Irving Mills & Albany Bigard) 4:40
B-2 FPB6953 (23270) I'm Beginning To See The Light (Harry James, Duke Ellington, John Hodges & Don George) 3:02
B-3 FPB6954 (F23264) Solitude (Duke Ellington, Eddie De Lange & Irving Mills) 3:35
B-4 FPB6961 (23268) Don't Get Around Much Anymore (Duke Ellington & Bob Russell) 3:10
B-5 FPB6317 (F23263) All Too Soon (Carl Sigman & Duke Ellington) 2:58


Personnel/recorded date/master numbers confirmed with the Ruppli's discography.
(“The Mercury Labels - A Discography” by Ruppli and Novitsky, Greenwood Press, 1993)

A-3, B-1, B-3, B-5:
Joe Newman (tp), Ernie Royal (tp), Doc Severinsen (tp), Clark Terry (tp),
Wayne Andre (tb), Jimmy Cleveland (tb), Melba Liston (tb), Tony Studd (tb),
Ray Alonge (frh), Jimmy Buffington (frh), Don Corrado (frh), Bob Northern (frh),
Harvey Phillips (tuba),
Jerry Dodgion (fl, cl, as), Eric Dixon (fl, ts), Sol Schlinger (bs, bcl),
Patti Bown (p), Milt Hinton (b), Osie Johnson (ds),
Eddie Costa (per), Ed Shaughnessy (per),
Billy Byers (arr, cond), Quincy Jones (prod).
Recorded in Fine Recording, New York City on December 29, 1961.

A-4, A-5, B-2, B-4:
same personnel as A-3, except:
Jack Rains (tb) replaces Wayne Andre,
Julius Watkins (frh) replaces Don Corrado,
Spencer Sinatra (ts) replaces Eric Dixon.
Recorded in New York City on January 5, 1962.

A-1, A-2:
same personnel as A-4, except:
Al DeRisi (tp) replaces Doc Severinsen,
Eric Dixon (ts) replaces Spencer Sinatra.
Recorded in Fine Recording, New York CIty on January 12, 1962.

Recording engineer: Bob Fine.
Recording director: Quincy Jones.


Front Back
[PPS-6028 FRONT] [PPS-6028 BACK]


Side A Side B
[PPS-6028 A] [PPS-6028 B]

Inner Sleeve

Front Back

MATSUBAYASHI 'Shaolin' Kohji <shaolin@rhythmaning.org>
Counter visitors to this page since February 26, 2004.
Last Updated: (none)