To Site Top
[ English | Japanese ]



* About Mercury
* About This Site

* Label Varitations
* Matrix Variations
* Innersleeve Variations

* Columns

* blog (not only Merc.)

Mercury Series

* 10000 Series
* 15000 Series (10")
* 20000 Series A
* 20000 Series B
* 25000 Series (10")
* 30000 Series (10")
* 35000/JATP/MGC
* 40000 Golden Lyre
* Living Presence
* 80000 Custom
* 90000 Tono
* PPS Series
* SRM Series
* Demo/Sampler


* EmArcy 26000 (10")
* EmArcy 36000 (12")
* EmArcy MGE/SRE
* EmArcy EMS
* Wing 12000
* Wing 12100/16100
* Wing 14000/18000
* Wing 60000
* Limelight
* Philips U.S.
* Fontana U.S.
* Smash
* Blue Rock
* Cumberland
* ...

(33rpm 7")

* Mercury 200/600
* Limelight 300
* Smash 700
* Fontana 750
* Philips 800/2700

Extended Play
(45rpm 7")

* Mercury EP 3000
* Mercury EP 4000
* Mercury EP 5000
* EmArcy EP 6000
* Wing EP 16000
* Mercury MEP
* Childcraft/Playcraft
* miscellaneous


* Mercury 2000
* Mercury 3000
* Mercury 5000
* Mercury 6000
* Mercury 8000
* Mercury 8900
* Mercury 11000
* Mercury 70000
* Mercury 89000
* EmArcy 16000
* Limelight
* Wing
* Blue Rock
* ...

Index by Artists



[In Association with Amazon.com]

Dick Campbell Discography on Mercury

[Dick Campbell]

The name of the late Dick Campbell (1944-2002) has been very famous and popular; especially he became rather famous for several albums as a result of his collaboration with Gary Usher; as well as a composer.. However, the materials Dick Campbell left on Mercury in 1965 has also been famous in a different point of view.

(Dick Campbell's own words, taken from the web site by Dick's son Mr. Gary Campbell with his permission)
... I had written a couple of "Dylan-esque" songs which Mercury liked. Columbia had Dylan and Mercury didn't. They asked me to write ten more, Come back in two weeks, and make an album. So I did and this is it...

On the year 1965 and beyond, when Bob Dylan switched his own music and went forward accompanied with electric guitar, so many “Dylan-clones” and parodies had emerged. Among such “Dylan-clones”, Dick Campbell's tracks on his LP “Sings Where It's At” has gained distinctive popularity and praises. It is also interesting that the backing musicians include members of Paul Butterfield band - all tracks are so attractive, and performances are great.

We sincerely regret Mr. Dick Campbell's passaway in 2002, but his son Gary Campbell has a web site to tribute his father, where we can fully enjoy various information Dick Campbell's music, as well as invaluable photos of Dick Campbell.

The period Dick Campbell recorded on Mercury: 1965.

[English] [Japanese]

The Dick Campbell Release Listing on Mercury

Title Artist(s) Sleeve (Note)
The Blues Peddlers c/w The People Planners    Dick Campbell    [72511] red label
w/ sleeve
N/A white label
promo copy
w/ sleeve

Title Artist(s) Jacket (Note)
Sings Where It's At    Dick Campbell    [MG-21060] red Mercury

The Dick Campbell Discography on Mercury

Personnel/recorded date/master numbers confirmed with the Ruppli's discography.
(“The Mercury Labels - A Discography” by Ruppli and Novitsky, Greenwood Press, 1993)

Dick Campbell
Dick Campbell (vo, rh-g),
Mark Naftalin (org), Martiy Grebb (tambourine, p, cymbals, misc. instr.),
Mike Bloomfield (12 string g), Jimmy Vincent (12 string g), Pete Cetera (aka Peter Cetera) (el-b),
Paul Butterfield (harp), Sam Lay (ds), Larry Wrice (ds),
Artie Sullivan (tambourine, vo).

Produced by Lou Reizner and Eddie Mascari.
Recorded at Universal Recording Studios, Chicago, IL in 1965.
(master no.) (track title) (45rpm release no.) (LP release no.)
2-36677 Sandi   Mercury MG-21060
Mercury SR-61060
2-36678 Despairs Cafeteria   Mercury MG-21060
Mercury SR-61060
2-36679 You've Got To Be Kidding   Mercury MG-21060
Mercury SR-61060
2-36680 Don Juan of the Western World   Mercury MG-21060
Mercury SR-61060
2-36681 Object Of Derision   Mercury MG-21060
Mercury SR-61060
2-36682 Aphrodite's Child   Mercury MG-21060
Mercury SR-61060

Dick Campbell
Same/simlar personnel as above session.
Recorded at Universal Recording Studios, Chicago, IL in 1965.
(master no.) (track title) (45rpm release no.) (LP release no.)
2-37432 The Blues Peddlers Mercury 72511 Mercury MG-21060
Mercury SR-61060
2-37433 The People Planners Mercury 72511 Mercury MG-21060
Mercury SR-61060
2-37434 Approximately Four Minites Of Feeling Sorry For D.C.   Mercury MG-21060
Mercury SR-61060

Dick Campbell
Same/simlar personnel as above session.
Recorded at Universal Recording Studios, Chicago, IL maybe in November 1965.
(master no.) (track title) (45rpm release no.) (LP release no.)
2-37480 Ask Me If I Care   Mercury MG-21060
Mercury SR-61060
2-37481 Where Were You   Mercury MG-21060
Mercury SR-61060
2-37482 Girls Named Misery   Mercury MG-21060
Mercury SR-61060

MATSUBAYASHI 'Shaolin' Kohji <shaolin@rhythmaning.org>
Counter visitors to this page since March 02, 2004.
Last Updated: (none)