To Site Top
[ English | Japanese ]



* About Mercury
* About This Site

* Label Varitations
* Matrix Variations
* Innersleeve Variations

* Columns

* blog (not only Merc.)

Mercury Series

* 10000 Series
* 15000 Series (10")
* 20000 Series A
* 20000 Series B
* 25000 Series (10")
* 30000 Series (10")
* 35000/JATP/MGC
* 40000 Golden Lyre
* Living Presence
* 80000 Custom
* 90000 Tono
* PPS Series
* SRM Series
* Demo/Sampler


* EmArcy 26000 (10")
* EmArcy 36000 (12")
* EmArcy MGE/SRE
* EmArcy EMS
* Wing 12000
* Wing 12100/16100
* Wing 14000/18000
* Wing 60000
* Limelight
* Philips U.S.
* Fontana U.S.
* Smash
* Blue Rock
* Cumberland
* ...

(33rpm 7")

* Mercury 200/600
* Limelight 300
* Smash 700
* Fontana 750
* Philips 800/2700

Extended Play
(45rpm 7")

* Mercury EP 3000
* Mercury EP 4000
* Mercury EP 5000
* EmArcy EP 6000
* Wing EP 16000
* Mercury MEP
* Childcraft/Playcraft
* miscellaneous


* Mercury 2000
* Mercury 3000
* Mercury 5000
* Mercury 6000
* Mercury 8000
* Mercury 8900
* Mercury 11000
* Mercury 70000
* Mercury 89000
* EmArcy 16000
* Limelight
* Wing
* Blue Rock
* ...

Index by Artists



[In Association with Amazon.com]

MG-20165: Miyoshi Sings For Arthur Godfrey / Miyoshi Umeki

[Front Cover] Label Type : black Mercury type A
Matrix Number : SIDE-A MG20165A MS1    MSI    A1    I
SIDE-B MG20165B MS1    MSI    B1    I

GEMM is your best source for impossible-to-find music! Search Miyoshi Umeki Mercury LP at GEMM.com


Album cover being suffered from heavy browning.

A-5 “How Deep Is The Ocean?” was also available on Mercury 70838x45 (45rpm).

B-6 “Sayonara (The Japanese Farewell Song)” also available on Mercury 71216x45 (45rpm). Although the title is very similar, it's a different song from “Sayonara” (written by I. Berlin), which can be heard on Mercury 71243x45 (45rpm) and Wing MGW-12148.

Inside The Groove

Miss Umeki's first leader album full of Orientalism :)

Personal Impression (and brief notes)

Miyoshi Umeki, also known as Nancy Umeki, get several attention in 1948-1950, as a Jazz vocalist in Japan. However she made her mind to go to the United States to enter a new world. Since then, she recorded several albums, and even got popular as an actress, for she won the Academy Awards (performance by an actress in a supporting role).

Later this album reissued as “Miyoshi - Singing Star Of Rodgers And Hammerstein's Flower Drum Song” (Wing MGW-12148), with several songs replaced.

BTW B-6 “Sayonara (The Japanese Farewell Song)” is different from “Sayonara” (written by Irving Berlin), which was a title tune for the movie “Sayonara”; on the movie in 1957, when she won the Academy Awards.

Most tunes on this album are covered with “Orientalism”, compared with her 2nd album (with orthodox Jazzy moods) “Miyoshi” (MG-20568). For example, you can hear Japanese narration between English lyrics such on A-6 and B-1. I can't imagine how people in the US of that time hear and think of such kind of sound.

You say you like some Orientalism or Exisotism in this album? But wait, if it's exotic for you, it's NO exotic for us Japanese :-P The word "Exisotism" is, such a vague word. Yes you, European or American, created such term long long ago.... Anyway, the orientalism on this album is rather “strange” kind for most of us Japanese :)

Strictly Personal Rating (to what extent I could enjoy this album)

7 out of 10

Track Listing

A-1 13884 If I Give My Heart To You (Jimmie Crane, Jimmy Brewster & Al Jacobs) 3:03
A-2 13886 China Nights (Shina No Yoru) (Sil Sedores) 2:08
A-3 13885 I'm In The Mood For Love (Jimmy McHugh & Dorothy Fields) 2:22
A-4 13887 My Baby's Comin' Home (Leavitt, Grady & Feller) 2:18
A-5 12184 How Deep Is The Ocean (How High The Sky) (Irving Berlin) 2:30
A-6 13888 Slowly Go Out Of Your Mind (Jack Carrington) 2:45
B-1 13889 Teach Me Tonight (Gene De Paul & Sammy Cahn) 3:01
B-2 12187 Hanna Ko San (Dees, Schelb & Clinton) 2:30
B-3 12185 Can't Help Lovin' Dat Man (Oscar Hammerstein 2nd & Jerome Kern) 2:40
B-4 13890 'S Wonderful (Ira Gershwin - George Gershwin) 2:25
B-5 13892 Over The Rainbow (Harold Arlen & E. Y. Harburg) 2:35
B-6 13891 Sayonara (The Japanese Farewell Song) (Yoshida - Morgan) 2:22


Personnel/recorded date/master numbers confirmed with the Ruppli's discography.
(“The Mercury Labels - A Discography” by Ruppli and Novitsky, Greenwood Press, 1993)

A-5, B-2, B-3:
Miyoshi Umeki (vo) with Hugo Peretti Orchestra.
Recorded in New York City, 1955.

A-1, A-2, A-3, A-4, A-6, B-1, B-4, B-5, B-6:
Miyoshi Umeki (vo) with Hugo Perreti Orchestra.
Recorded in New York City, 1956.

The Artist Also Appears on...

Miyoshi Umeki (vo) :
  • Mercury MG-20165 : Miyoshi Sings For Arthur Godfrey
  • Mercury MG-20568 / SR-60228 : Miyoshi
  • Wing MGW-12148 : Miyoshi - Singing Star Of Rodgers And Hammerstein's Flower Drum Song
  • Mercury MG-20161 : Songs For The Mood You're In / Various Artists

related information


Front Back
[MG-20165 FRONT] [MG-20165 BACK]


Side A Side B
[MG-20165 A] [MG-20165 B]

MATSUBAYASHI 'Shaolin' Kohji <shaolin@rhythmaning.org>
Counter visitors to this page since April 18, 2006.
Last Updated: (none)