To Site Top
[ English | Japanese ]



* About Mercury
* About This Site

* Label Varitations
* Matrix Variations
* Innersleeve Variations

* Columns

* blog (not only Merc.)

Mercury Series

* 10000 Series
* 15000 Series (10")
* 20000 Series A
* 20000 Series B
* 25000 Series (10")
* 30000 Series (10")
* 35000/JATP/MGC
* 40000 Golden Lyre
* Living Presence
* 80000 Custom
* 90000 Tono
* PPS Series
* SRM Series
* Demo/Sampler


* EmArcy 26000 (10")
* EmArcy 36000 (12")
* EmArcy MGE/SRE
* EmArcy EMS
* Wing 12000
* Wing 12100/16100
* Wing 14000/18000
* Wing 60000
* Limelight
* Philips U.S.
* Fontana U.S.
* Smash
* Blue Rock
* Cumberland
* ...

(33rpm 7")

* Mercury 200/600
* Limelight 300
* Smash 700
* Fontana 750
* Philips 800/2700

Extended Play
(45rpm 7")

* Mercury EP 3000
* Mercury EP 4000
* Mercury EP 5000
* EmArcy EP 6000
* Wing EP 16000
* Mercury MEP
* Childcraft/Playcraft
* miscellaneous


* Mercury 2000
* Mercury 3000
* Mercury 5000
* Mercury 6000
* Mercury 8000
* Mercury 8900
* Mercury 11000
* Mercury 70000
* Mercury 89000
* EmArcy 16000
* Limelight
* Wing
* Blue Rock
* ...

Index by Artists



[In Association with Amazon.com]

LS-86002: I/We Had A Ball / Various Artists

[Front Cover] Label Type : green Limelight promotional
Matrix Number : SIDE-A LSP 86002-A- L1    RR
SIDE-B LSP 86002-B- L1    II    RR

GEMM is your best source for impossible-to-find music! Search I/We Had A Ball Limelight LP at GEMM.com


Equivalent release: Limelight LM-82002 (mono).

original gatefold cover with silver sticker and original booklet.

promotional copy for broadcast.

Inside The Groove

An interesting compilation of Limelight recording artists, all playing compositions for the “I Had A Ball” musical.

Personal Impression (and brief notes)

Limelight recording artists plays “I Had A Ball” numbers. Some of these performances were intended for this album, and others were taken from previously-recorded sessions by various artists. As a result, playing format varies from piano trio to big orchestra.

Quincy Jones band plays rock-solid and swinging arrangements featuring gorgeous all-star Jazz players on A-1, A-3 and B-1. In the middle 1960s, Quincy Jones was already leaving from pure Jazz arrangements and was moving toward soulful and popular scene (they're all really nice, though), so this thrilling and jazzy big-band recording made in November 1964 must not be neglected for many Jazz fans.

Dizzy Gillespie presents his charming singing on a short track A-2 with his regular combo, from the same session as heard on “Jambo Caribe” (LM-82007 / LS-86007). The entire mood on the number is very relaxed but also jazzy.

Art Blakey and the Jazz Messengers in the middle 1960s was struggling with confusion - included here on this album is A-4, which I think their best performance from their first Limelight album “'S Make It” (LM-82001 / LS-86001).

According to the master numbers, it seems that the Oscar Peterson Trio recorded only one tune B-2 on May 18, 1965 session. Probably Jack Tracy (head of the Limelight label) asked Oscar Peterson to record the number, especially for this album.

Milt Jackson Quintet's B-3 was recorded during his sessions which became “In A New Setting” (LM-82006 / LS-86006). Also, Chet Baker's B-4 was from the session for the album “Baby Breeze” (LM-82003 / LS-86003).

As a summary, I can say that this LP is not only a nice Jazz version of the musical numbers, but also a showcase of Limelight recording artists. A really interesting compilation.

Strictly Personal Rating (to what extent I could enjoy this album)

9 out of 10

Track Listing

A-1 2-34247 I Had A Ball (J. Lawrence - S. Freeman) 5:00 Quincy Jones and his Band
A-2 2-34080 Fickle Finger Of Fate (J. Lawrence - S. Freeman) 2:14 Dizzy Gillespie Quintet
A-3 2-34248 Almost (J. Lawrence - S. Freeman) 4:18 Quincy Jones and his Band
A-4 2-31707 Faith (J. Lawrence - S. Freeman) 5:52 Art Blakey and the Jazz Messengers
B-1 2-34249 Addie's At It Again (J. Lawrence - S. Freeman) 4:57 Quincy Jones and his Band
B-2 2-34761 Coney Island, U.S.A. (J. Lawrence - S. Freeman) 2:25 Oscar Peterson Trio
B-3 2-34143 The Other Half Of Me (J. Lawrence - S. Freeman) 3:05 Milt Jackson
B-4 2-34107 Think Beautiful (J. Lawrence - S. Freeman) 4:18 Chet Baker Quartet


Personnel/recorded date/master numbers confirmed with the Ruppli's discography.
(“The Mercury Labels - A Discography” by Ruppli and Novitsky, Greenwood Press, 1993)

A-1, A-3, B-1: Quincy Jones and his band:
Nat Adderley (tp), Dizzy Gillespie (tp), Freddie Hubbard (tp),
Jimmy Maxwell (tp), Jimmy Nottingham (tp), Joe Newman (tp),
Curtis Fuller (tb), J.J. Johnson (tb), Kai Winding (tb), Melba Liston (tb),
Jerry Dodgion (as), Phil Woods (as), James Moody (as, ts, fl),
Roland Kirk (ts), Benny Golson (ts), Lucky Thompson (ts), Pepper Adams (bs),
Milt Jackson (vib), Bobby Scott (p), Bob Cranshaw (b), Art Blakey (ds),
Quincy Jones (cond).
Arranged by Benny Golson and Billy Byers.
Recorded in New York City on December 20, 1964.

A-2: Dizzy Gillespie Quintet:
Dizzy Gillespie (tp, vo), James Moody (ts, fl),
Kenny Barron (p), Chris White (b), Rudy Collins (ds), Kansas Fields (perc).
Recorded at Universal Recording Studios, Chicago, IL on November 6, 1964.

A-4: see LS-86001.

B-2: Oscar Peterson Trio:
Oscar Peterson (p), Ray Brown (b), Ed Thigpen (ds).
Recorded in New York City on May 18, 1965.

B-3: Milt Jackson Quintet:
Jimmy Heath (ts, fl), Milt Jackson (vib),
McCoy Tyner (p), Bob Cranshaw (b), Connie Kay (ds).
Recorded in New York City on December 9, 1964.

B-4: Chet Baker Quartet:
Chet Baker (flh), Bob James (p), Mike Fleming (b), Charlie Rice (ds).
Recorded at A&R Studios, New York City on November 20, 1964.


Front Back
[LS-86002 FRONT] [LS-86002 BACK]


Side A Side B
[LS-86002 A] [LS-86002 B]

MATSUBAYASHI 'Shaolin' Kohji <shaolin@rhythmaning.org>
Counter visitors to this page since January 11, 2003.
Last Updated: (none)