Spaced / Soft Machine

この CD、購入後かなりの年数が経過していますが、最近マイブームというか、かなりヘビーローテーション気味に聴きまくっています。

This CD, which I bought many years ago, recently sits in my “heavy rolation” list – actually I listen to the CD very often nowadays.

Spaced / Soft Machine
(Cuneiform Rune 90)

1969年 “Volume Two” と 1970年 “Third” の間に録音したとされるこの音源は、 Peter Dockley 企画のマルチメディアショウ “Spaced” の BGM として大量に録音されたものがベースになっているそうです。よって、ここに収録されている 7曲の全てが、いわゆる「曲」の体裁をなしていません。また、ストレートアヘッドに演奏された楽曲は少なく、多くはテープ編集とコラージュによって構成されています。

These materials, recorded between “Volume Two” (1969) and “Third” (1970), was based on a huge amount of recorded tracks originally meant for the BGM of Multimedia Show “Spaced” produced by Peter Dockley. Therefore, all seven tracks on the CD do not take a form of so-called “a song” or “a tune”. Also, most of the tracks are not performed live, but created by tape editing/collage.

ところがどっこい、聴けば聴くほどその魅力にはまってしまうスルメ的アルバムです。特に Robert Wyatt のドラミングが素晴らしい。代表的な成果は 5曲目 “Spaced Five”。Wyatt のシンプルなリズム提示から始まったかと思うと、そこに Mike Ratledge のエレピが左チャンネルに、Brian Hopper のエフェクターを通した不思議なサックスの音が右チャンネルにかぶさってきます。この二人の演奏だけを聴くと、まるで Jazz のバラードをデュオ演奏してるかの様なセンチメンタルな響きなのですが、Wyatt のドラムはこの演奏に絡みつつ外れつつ、どんどんリズムの複雑さを増していくばかり。恐らくあとからオーバーダビングしたのでしょうが、あっという間に過ぎ去ってしまう 4分 18秒です。

However, I feel it’s an awesome album – I can find new enjoyable part and thrilling point, every time I listen to the CD again and again. Especially the drumming of Robert Wyatt is really awesome. The most favourite track is “Spaced Five” – it starts with Wyatt’s simple rhythm presentation, then Mike Ratledge’s electric piano appears on the left channel, while Brian Hopper’s saxophone (with electrified and effected) on the right channel. These two guys plays sentimental melodies as if they were playing a Jazz ballad by duo. However, Wyatt’s drumming (placed on the center in the stereophonic soundscape) gets more and more complexed – it sounds like Wyatt do care or do not care about other two players. Probably this track was made by overdubbing or tape mixing. Anyway, this is a great performance of four minutes and eighteen seconds.

“Spaced One” は音響派的とでもいうか、とてもアンビエントな雰囲気が漂う秀作。“Spaced Three” と “Spaced Seven” はテープ逆回転を駆使した音源。残念ながら、これら 3曲には Wyatt のドラムは一切絡んでこないため、個人的には若干物足りなさが残ります。残る “Spaced Two” (テープループが印象的な覚醒的なトラック)、“Spaced Four” (32分超の大作)、“Spaced Six” (Wyatt のドラミングが冴え渡る!) は、聴き所満載です。

“Spaced One” sounds like a kind of Electronica with full of “ambient” moods. “Spaced Three” and “Spaced Seven” mostly consists of tape rewinding effects. Unfortunately these three tracks don’t include Wyatt’s drumming. But the rest – “Spaced Two” (simple but druggy tune with impressive tape loops), “Spaced Four” (a very long piece of over 32 minutes), and “Spaced Six” (Wyatt’s marvellous drumming rules the atmosphere of the track!) – are very amazing and worth listening to in every detail.

この CD は、あくまで CD という体裁にするために編集されたものですから、実際のマルチメディアショーでどの様に使われ、それがどの様に聴こえ感じられたのか、本当に興味津々です。

This CD is an edited version (of huge materials intended for BGM), so I am very curious how these were used at the actual Multimedia Show, and how it sounded like as a whole.

1. Spaced One (12:04)
2. Spaced Two (7:38)
3. Spaced Three (2:58)
4. Spaced Four (32:12)
5. Spaced Five (4:18)
6. Spaced Six (4:12)
7. Spaced Seven (3:53)

Brian Hopper (sax), Mike Ratledge (el-p, org), Hugh Hopper (b) Robert Wyatt (ds).
Originally edited by Bob Windford.
Recorded in London, England, 1969.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.