James Brown Live in Virginia 1970

ジェームス・ブラウン (James Brown) のものすごい音源が、公開されています。

James Brown‘s amazing recording is available here.



According to the video description, it is from a live concert in Virginia, 1970. Although its sound quality is far from good, intensity and excitement of the performance itself is like “out of this world”.


あの1960年代後半の黄金期を支えたバンドメンバーの大半が1970年3月9日に脱退し、同じ日に呼び寄せられたペースメーカーズのブーツィー (William “Bootsy” Collins) とキャットフィッシュ (Phelps “Catfish” Collins ) など若手が加入後、さほどたっていない時期の音源ではないかと思われます。とはいっても、ソングリストに「Super Bad」が入っており、この曲のスタジオ録音は1970年6月30日(ナッシュビル)ですし、イントロのダニー・レイ (Danny Ray) の MC でも「…and very latest recording, “Super Bad”!」と言っていますので、1970年7月前後のライブではないかと思われます。

It is a rare recording dated after March 9, 1970, when the most of the original James Brown band members left (then Mr. Brown had a new breed band including William “Bootsy” Collins and Phelps “Catfish” Collins, of The Pacemakers). The song list contains “Super Bad” (studio version was recorded on June 30, 1970 in Nashville), and the MC proudly declares “…and very latest recording, Super Bad”, so this live recording was taped no earlier than July 1970, I guess.


1971年2〜3月の各種音源と比べると、まだアレンジがラフではあるものの怒涛のファンク攻撃に変わりはなく、またスタジオ録音にも増して ジョニー・グリッグス (Johnny Griggs) のコンガが全編で大炸裂しているのが悶絶ものです。尊師JBも「Johnny! Tell Me How You Feel!」と煽りまくり。また、このオリジナルJB’sでの「I Can’t Stand It (I Can’t Stand Myself)」も(短いとはいえ)貴重な演奏と言えるでしょう。

Among all the 1970-1971 recordings (featuring the original J.B.’s), this particular recording shows some rough arrangements, when compared especually with Feb-March 1971 recording (in Italy and Pari), but of course too funky. Very interestingly, Johnny Griggs (on conga) is more featured than any other recordings (Mr. Brown in great agitation raps like “Johnny! Tell me how you feel!”). Also, “I Can’t Stand It (I Can’t Stand Myself)” by the original J.B.’s is also rare to listen to.


また、「It’s A Man’s Man’s Man’s World」でのキャットフィッシュのギターソロも、1971年のものとは異なり、ジミ・ヘンドリクス (Jimi Hendrix) やエディ・ヘイゼル (Eddie Hazel) を思わせるようなワウを効かせたスローなロングソロが続いたかと思えば、後半では前任のジミー・ノーレン (Jimmy Nolen) のようにオクターブ奏法でジャジーにキメていたりします。

Catfish’s guitar solo on “It’s A Man’s Man’s Man’s World” is, unlike the versions of 1971, very slow and wow (like Jimi Hendrix or Eddie Hazel did), then plays jazzy octave notes in the latter part, just like his predecessor Jimmy Nolen often did.



Anyway, this is a very interesting, very exciting live recordings by James Brown with the original J.B.’s in 1970, which itself is very rare.

1. Intro
2. I Can't Stand Myself (When You Touch Me)
3. It's A New Day
4. Bewildered
5. There Was A Time
6. Get Up (I Feel Like Being A) Sex Machine
7. Try Me
8. Medley: Papa's Got A Brand New Bag / I Got You (I Feel Good) / I Got The Feelin'
9. Give It Up Or Turn It A Loose
10. It's A Man's Man's Man's World
11. Please, Please, Please
12. Get Up (I Feel Like Being A) Sex Machine (replace)
13. Super Bad

2016/03/02 追記: ’00s Grits & Soul さんより直々に コメント をいただきまして、1970年11月20日、ヴァージニア州セーラム市のシヴィックセンター (Civic Center, Salem, VA) でのライブ音源とのことです。情報ありがとうございます。ナイジェリアへのツアーは1970年12月 ですので、その直前ということになりますね。

Addendum (Mar. 2, 2016): Then it turned out that this recording is a live recording on November 20, 1970 at the Civic Center, Salem, VA. So it was just one month before the band toured to Nigeria in December 1970.

One thought on “James Brown Live in Virginia 1970

  1. このライブは1970年11月20日に行われたライブです、興味があればメールをどうぞ。

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.